Filter your results

By section:

By year:

By month:


Tag: <span>GTKYF</span> – Get to Know Your Forces

Pilot Wilfred ‘Leigh’ Brintnell is in the Spotlight during Veteran’s Week

– Wilfred Leigh Brintnell, better known as Leigh, was born in Belleville Ontario in 1895. He joined the Royal Flying Corps, part of the Canadian Air Force in 1917 as a pilot. Leigh eventually became a flight instructor and worked in Borden, Fort Worth, Texas and with the Royal Air Force in Upavon, England. After his …

Category: Defence Stories
Tags:

A well rounded career gives perspective to Captain Carl Homer

– Growing up in Scarborough, Ontario, Captain Carl Homer’s military exposure was limited to what he saw in Hollywood blockbuster films. He did not consider the Canadian Armed Forces (CAF) as a career option until his friends looked into joining the local part-time Reserve unit. He was intrigued by the communications field because he was “always …

Category: Defence Stories
Tags:

Signals Officer

– Captain Savio Fernandes joined the Reserve Force in September, 2001. Initially looking for a way to support his university education, he felt compelled to contribute to his country after the devastating attacks that took place on September 11th in the United States. He was initially intimidated by the thought of joining, having little awareness of …

Category: Defence Stories
Tags:

The Rise of Women’s Hockey in the Forces

– Women of the Canadian Armed Forces (CAF) took to the ice in the 2017 Quebec Region Hockey Tournament held at Canadian Forces Base (CFB) Valcartier from 16 to 20 January. Teams from Bagotville, Valcartier, Montreal and the National Capital Region (NCR) took part in the tournament to determine which team will represent the Quebec region …

Category: Defence Stories
Tags: |

PO2 Derrick Siska followed his father’s footsteps into the Navy

– Petty Officer, 2nd Class Derrick Siska’s Navy career began 13 years ago when his father, who came from a military background, explained to him the benefits of joining the Navy. He became an electrical technician in order to gain experience in a trade that might teach him valuable skills to use in life after the …

Category: Defence Stories
Tags:

Filtrer vos résultats

Par section :

Par année :

Par mois :


Étiquette : <span>DVF</span> – Découvrez vos Forces

Semaine des anciens combattants

– Wilfred Leigh Brintnell, mieux connu sous le nom de Leigh, naît à Belleville (Ontario) en 1895. Il s’enrôle en 1917 comme pilote dans le Royal Flying Corps, un élément de l’Aviation canadienne. Leigh Brintnell devient ensuite instructeur de vol et travaille à Borden et à Fort Worth, au Texas, ainsi qu’avec la Royal Air Force …

Catégorie : Nouvelles de la Défense
Étiquettes :

Grâce à sa carrière bien remplie, le capitaine Carl Homer voit la vie sous un autre angle

– Originaire de Scarborough (Ontario), le capitaine Carl Homer a d’abord été exposé au monde militaire par l’intermédiaire des superproductions hollywoodiennes. Il n’a envisagé de faire carrière au sein des Forces armées canadiennes (FAC) que lorsque ses amis se sont renseignés sur le travail à temps partiel dans l’unité locale de la Réserve. Le domaine des …

Catégorie : Nouvelles de la Défense
Étiquettes :

Officier des transmissions

– Le capitaine Savio Fernandes s’enrôle dans la Force de réserve en septembre 2001. Tout d’abord à la recherche d’un moyen de financer ses études universitaires, il se sent tenu d’apporter sa contribution au pays après les attaques dévastatrices survenues aux États-Unis le 11 septembre. Comme il en sait bien peu sur ce qu’implique une carrière …

Catégorie : Nouvelles de la Défense
Étiquettes :

L’essor du hockey féminin dans les Forces

– Des femmes des Forces armées canadiennes (FAC) ont chaussé leurs patins pour participer au l’édition de 2017 du Tournoi de hockey de la région de Québec, qui a eu lieu à la BFC Valcartier, entre le 16 et le 20 janvier. Des équipes de Bagotville, de Valcartier, de Montréal et de la région de la …

Catégorie : Nouvelles de la Défense
Étiquettes : |

Le M 2 Derrick Siska suit les traces de son père dans la Marine

– La carrière du maître de 2e classe Derrick Siska dans la Marine a commencé 13 ans plus tôt lorsque son père, qui venait du milieu militaire, lui a fait miroiter les avantages de s’enrôler dans la Marine. Il est devenu électrotechnicien afin d’acquérir une expérience et des compétences professionnelles qui lui seraient utiles après sa …

Catégorie : Nouvelles de la Défense
Étiquettes :